Management



Ann Wilson, General Manager, Co-owner


Email: management@carrollspaper.com


Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 20

Editorial Department



Douglas Burns, Co-owner, Staff Writer, Columnist


Email: d.burns@carrollspaper.com

Twitter: @douglaswburns
Douglas Burns is a fourth-generation Iowa journalist and co-owner of The Carroll Daily Times Herald. Burns writes a column - "Taking Note" - for the Daily Times Herald's editorial page.
In addition, Burns covers city hall, state and national politics, business and government and handles general assignment and feature work. Burns writes the "Political Mercury" column for Des Moines' Cityview newspaper.
After graduating from Carroll High School in 1987, Burns went to the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill. He wrote for The Palm Beach Post in Florida, then covered energy policy for Inside Washington Publishers of Arlington, Va. He also worked for The Ames Tribune for two years. From 1995 to 1996, Burns served as the Washington, D.C., -based press secretary for U.S. Rep. Pat Danner of Missouri.
Burns has been back at his family's daily paper in Carroll since December 1996.
In 2007, Burns was one of the co-founding fellows of Iowa Independent.com. Burns' work also has appeared in Salon.com and at the Center For Rural Strategies' Daily Yonder. He is a frequent guest on Iowa Public Radio. Burns has interviewed President Obama seven times -- six as a candidate and once as president.





Mark Schafer, Sports editor


Email: sports@carrollspaper.com

Twitter: mark_schafer


Brandon Hurley, Sports writer


Email: b.hurley@carrollspaper.com




Larry Devine, Editor


Email: l.devine@carrollspaper.com





Jeff Storjohann, Photographer


Email: photo@carrollspaper.com





Jared Strong, Staff Writer


Email: j.strong@carrollspaper.com

Twitter: @jstrongDTH
Atlantic native and former Des Moines Register reporter Jared Strong started with The Daily Times Herald Monday in a newly developed beat.
Strong will produce enterprise and investigative reporting as well as feature writing. Additionally, he is responsible for coverage of crime and courts in Carroll County and surrounding areas.
Strong comes to The Daily Times Herald from The Des Moines Register where he worked from 2005 until he was recruited here. At the Register, Strong covered community beats, handled general-assignment responsibilities and wrote stories in a variety of cities, both inside Iowa and out of state. Strong is widely regarded in Iowa journalism circles as a rising star in the profession.
"I had a good run at the Register, but I'm excited to get back to my western Iowa roots," Strong said. "This town should be proud it has a family-owned newspaper, and I'm happy to be a part of it."
A 2005 Iowa State University graduate, Strong wrote for that school's newspaper in addition to doing an internship for veteran Iowa journalist Chuck Offenburger's news, feature and commentary Web site, Offenburger.com. While working with Offenburger, Strong co-edited an issue of The Glidden Graphic.
Strong was raised in Atlantic and graduated from high school there in 2000. His mother, Mary Strong, is a longtime grade-school teacher in nearby Anita. His father, Steve, a physical therapist at Cass County Memorial Hospital in Atlantic, passed away in 1996 following an aortic aneurysm.
Strong has one sister, Sarah Strong, a sous chef at a Madison, Wis., restaurant.
Most recently a resident of Norwalk, Strong and his wife, Jesse, are relocating to the Carroll area. Jesse, also an Atlantic High School graduate, is a special-education teacher-consultant who earned her bachelor's degree at the University of Iowa and master's at Drake University in Des Moines. The couple have two daughters, Jaia (pronounced Jay-a.), Jini and son James.

In addition to journalism, Strong enjoys hunting deer and pheasant. He's also a music aficionado and an automobile enthusiast who enjoys hot-rods & cars.


Rebecca McKinsey, Staff Writer


Email: r.mckinsey@carrollspaper.com

Sales and Marketing Department



Tom Burns, Co-owner, Vice President of Marketing


Email: t.burns@carrollspaper.com


Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 17






Marcia Jensen, Advertising Manager


Email: m.jensen@carrollspaper.com

Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 26





Jessica Rohe, Advertising Consultant


Email: j.rohe@carrollspaper.com

Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 37





Allison Sporrer, Advertising Consultant


Email: a.sporrer@carrollspaper.com

Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 22

Circulation Department



Brianne Goins, Circulation Manager


Email: b.goins@carrollspaper.com

Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext. 40

Production Department
Beckham Miller

Email: b.miller@carrollspaper.com

Tel.: (712) 792-3575 Ext 19

Kelly Cody

Email: k.cody@carrollspaper.com

Deb Stork

Email: d.stork@carrollspaper.com

Jon Sampson

Email: j.sampson@carrollspaper.com

Sasha Backhaus



Email: s.backhaus@carrollspaper.com